Who Is Eligible For Zakat

Who Is Eligible For Zakat

eligible for zakat

Zakat is a form of charity that is given to the poor and needy. It is one of the five pillars of Islam and is obligatory on every Muslim who is financially stable. There are certain people however that actually are eligible for zakat. The main objective of zakat is to help society by giving something from your wealth. In return, the Muslims get tremendous rewards not only in this world but also in the hereafter. Zakat also purifies your wealth and possessions. Islam guides us to make this world a better place by helping others in need and that’s why it puts emphasis on charity. The Eight Kinds Of People To Whom Zakat Can Be Given

Suggested Article: Great source

-> Top 15 Charity Organizations in Pakistan

There are specific people to whom zakat can be given. Zakat cannot be paid to everyone. It is mentioned in the Quran:

  “The alms are only for the Fuqara’ (the poor), and Al-Masakin (the needy) and those employed to collect (the funds), and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam), and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allah’s Cause, and for the wayfarer (a traveller who is cut off from everything); a duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Knower, All-Wise.” [Al-Quran 9:60]

Who are the people that are eligible for Zakat?

 According to this verse, there are eight categories of people who are eligible to receive zakat:

 1. Al-Fuqara (The poor)

Fuqara are the people who live below the poverty line and don’t have enough means to live a normal life like others. They deserve your zakat in order to meet the daily necessities of their lives.

Read the following article for a clearer view. How your donation can help needy and deserving

2. Al-Masakin (The needy)

Masakin are extremely poor and needy people. These people don’t have any possessions or income. Your zakat money can help them in improving their living conditions.

3. Zakat collectors

Zakat can be given to the people who are authorized to collect and distribute it among the needy and poor. It includes trustworthy institutions and NGOs who are working to help underprivileged Muslim communities.

4. Who converted to Islam

Those who are newly converted to Islam are eligible to receive zakat (if they are needy). For example, if someone has converted and is detached from their family and friends, you can give your zakat to them so that they can start their new journey.

5. Freeing captives

Slavery is prohibited in many parts of the world but there are still some places where people are trafficked and kept as slaves. Your zakat money can help slaves in freeing themselves and improve their living standards.

6. Debtors

Zakat can be given to pay off debts of someone who cannot repay on his own. However, one must make sure that the money borrowed by a debtor is not used for any un-Islamic or wrong purpose.

7. In the path of Allah

Those who are striving in the path of Allah are entitled to receive your zakat. These are the people who are fighting for Allah’s cause far away from their homes. Your zakat can help them have a better living.

8. Wayfarer (Travelers)

Zakat can be given to a traveler who is left alone in a foreign land and is in need of money to get back to his destination or to fulfill his objective of traveling. There is a condition that the person should be traveling for a lawful purpose otherwise he is not entitled to receive zakat. Refugees are also wayfarers and can be given zakat money as they leave their countries because of violence and oppression in search of a safe and better place.

Pay Zakat Online:

  • Account Title: “Transparent Hands Trust”
    Account Number: 220951896
    Branch Code: 0635
    IBAN Number: PK46 UNIL 0109 0002 2095 1896
    Bank Address: United Bank Limited, Bank Square, Block C, Model Town Lahore, Pakistan

You can also pay Zakat on our Website by simply clicking “Donate Now“.