8 Kinds of People Who Can Accept Zakat

8 Kinds of People Who Can Accept Zakat

8 Kinds of People Who Can Accept Zakat

Zakat is a form of charity made compulsory in Islam. Through Zakat, prosperous and rich people can uplift the poor, help them in trouble and console them in their hardships. Zakat establishes the rights of needy people. But the main question is what kind of people can accept zakat. Let us explain the concept of who can accept the zakat.

In Surah  Al-Tawbah, (9:60), it is said “Indeed, charitable offerings are meant to be given to the poor and the indigent, and to those who work on [administering] it, and to those whose hearts are to be reconciled, and to [free] those in bondage, and to the debt-ridden, and for the cause of God, and to the wayfarer. [This is] an obligation from God. And God is all-knowing, all-wise.”

It is noteworthy that there are eight types of people who can accept zakat, which Allah has explained clearly. This determination is not up to the government, scholars, or even the Prophet himself. The Quran also makes it possible for Muslims to pay their zakat to trusted institutions that distribute it to those who belong to one or more of the Zakat-worthy categories.

Here is the list of eight recipients of Zakat who can accept Zakat:

1.  The poor
2. The needy
3.  Zakat administrators
4.  Those whose hearts are to be reconciled, meaning new Muslims and friends of the Muslim community.
5.  Those in bondage (slaves and captives.)
6.  The debt-ridden.
7.  In the cause of God.
8.  The wayfarer, meaning those who are stranded or traveling with few resources.

1. The poor (Al-Fuqarâ’), meaning low-income or indigent

The recipients of zakat, who fall in this category are extremely poor and needy people. These people don’t have any possessions or income. Your zakat money can help them in improving their living condition. These are the people who live under the extreme poverty line. Therefore Al-Fuqara is in the category of the people who can accept zakat.

2. The needy (al-Masâkîn), meaning someone who is in difficulty

These are the recipients who do not have what is sufficient for themselves and their dependents. They do not have any savings, a permanent sufficient salary, or a running business, and they do not have compulsory support from anyone. So these people are in need of support and help. The scholars said they should be given the Zakat money enough to suffice themselves and their dependents for the period of a year.

3. Zakat administrators

These people are given the authority by the ruler to collect the zakat money, preserve it, and give it away to the poor. These people should be given their portion of the zakat money according to their efforts. As for the individuals who give zakat on behalf of some individuals, they will be not considered under this category.

Rules of Zakat in Islam 

4. Those whose hearts are to be reconciled, meaning new Muslims and friends of the Muslim community

The Zakat money should be given to these recipients in order to bring their hearts closer to Al-Islam, increase their faith, or to be safeguarded them from their criminality if they are criminals, as long as it is known that giving them the money will stop them from their criminality.

5. Those in bondage (slaves and captives)

It is permissible to give slaves or captives the zakat money in order to free them from slavery. This also includes freeing the Muslim captives,  from the hands of the enemy.

6. The debt-ridden

The one who carries a burden of debt upon himself and is unable to pay it falls into this category. This individual deserves to receive money to pay off his debt. Instead of giving the money to him one may pay his debt directly to the one he owes, using the zakat money without giving the money to him because the goal is to pay the debt.

7. In the cause of God 

Those who work on the path of Allah and strive hard so that the word of Allah will be victorious, not those who strive for their pride, their race, or their tribe to become victorious.

8. The wayfarer, meaning those who are stranded or traveling with few resources.

This is the traveler who got stuck in the middle of his journey, due to a lack of provisions. This individual must be given the zakat money that should cover his trip. However, it is important to note that, it is not permissible for a person to carry a few provisions while on a journey if one’s intention is to receive zakat money when his provision is exhausted.


The primary objective of Zakat is to elevate the spirit of a human being above material acquisition. Islam views the Zakat payer as a person who always needs purification and cleansing, both spiritually and materially. These are the recipients who can accept Zakat. 

It is mentioned in the Al-Tawbah: 103, “Take Sadaqah (alms) from their wealth in order to purify them and sanctify them with it, and invoke Allah for them. Verily! Your invocations are a source of security for them, and Allah is All-Hearer, All-Knower” 

Donate Sadaqah

The main objective of zakat is to help society by giving something from your wealth. In return, Muslims get tremendous rewards not only in this world but also in the hereafter. Zakat also purifies your wealth and possessions. Islam guides us to make this world a better place by helping others in need and that’s why it puts emphasis on charity.

Donate Zakat Online 


  1. Jazaak Allah Khair for the perfectly compiled information
    Is it possible to elaborate the 7th point, “in the cause of Allah (SWT)”?

    1. 7 point Meaning to those who are spreading the teachings of Islam and calling people from the wrong pathto the right path, they also need financial help in order to continue this true job . if still not clear will more elaborate for you. insha allah,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.